​    

Ever had a pistol pointed to your face before? That moment when you realise that you are not Dwayne Johnson or James Bond. Have you ever gotten robbed? If you have, you will agree with me that it leaves you terror-stricken. Well if you have not, there is no problem, guess I will just air “my personal experience with the men in black”.

Home sweet home! I guess that is what you call it. I left for home on Sunday after completing my exams. Home has always been safe, we only got attacks from mosquitoes. Wednesday was hatching, it was a couple of minutes past 2am. My sweet sleep was disturbed by a reiteration, “where my money”? Momma and Poppa all around me and they whisper ROBBERS. The guys with the pistol had now robbed two of my neighbours and you bet my momma, sister and aunt were struggling to have their pantaloon on.

My house was next. They said ‘OPEN’ (like seriously? They just think we will do that?). I closed my eyes but cannot tell you what I seemed pray for. Not because I do not want to disclose it, but because it is now blur in my head. The padlock was AZD security but one strike with a matchet was enough to see my burglary proof accommodating third parties. It was happening live in PH city not Gotham – there was no Batman to save us.

We are all on the ground now. I was not with the rest. I was lying on the floor in my sister’s room while the rest were in the parlour. Cash was taken, three phones and some other shit…then Bingo! I was found by one of them in my sister’s room. I was still flat on the floor before almost immediately, I was told to go and get HIS MONEY. “All of una go just dey chop oil money, oya go bring my money.” The one with the pistol, clearly high on some crack, was not smiling a bit. He hit me once with the hardened palm of his, as I managed to belabour my broke state. I was stripped off my neck chain, and all that mattered to him was, “Na gold? No use me play”. Thought the man with the pistol was through with me, did not know he was keen on having another session. “Oya go bring ya phone”, he stressed. You will definitely want to know what God did here.

I was one hundred percent sure that my phone was on my bed. It became a trying time as it was nowhere to be found. My brains were on the verge of having bullets create a whole or something, but none of that crap happened. Two other guys entered my room and they be shouting “bez let us go!” He left, and so did the rest of the gang. I went back to check my bed, I was amazed to see my phone still on that bed. My dad has his own encounter with the Divine, but this is my story and I can boldly say I am living proof of God’s existence.

Have you ever bothered to check the news? Only a selected few persons are not only enjoying immunity but then, have security men putting on the whole armour of sophisticated weaponry. The less victims, the better. So we need to watch and pray, and try to strengthen the operation of the vigilante group. God is not dead – no doubt blood, but we should try share experiences that matter if we must save the world from similar happenings. For as Martin Luther King Jnr once said, “our lives begin to end the day we become silent about things that matter”.
                                                           

                            OKOCHA OBED

