Posted in Uncategorized

TRAPPED

There is no joy in being restricted by poverty, persons, pains, and any physical related thing; but what is worse than being imprisoned right within you? Nothing.

I belong to the part of the world filled with black souls. Black is a symbol of struggle, so never teach a black man what struggle entails cos he knows better than even every lexical definition you may quote. Culture is my identity, the coming of English language and supposed civilization has seen many black people sprint like Bolt when Igbo language is taught in Nigerian schools; the love for our culture is now deemed history, it is even called evil. I see a Yoruba man, I am pleased cos he clearly has not forgotten his roots. I miss the old days when our vision was to fight for freedom and independency from colonial masters but I will not say I prefer the old days to the current state of Africa for that will be unwise.

Now that we are free, what has been the good news? The African race has accepted the gift from the white man known as TECHNOLOGY. Technology has sustained every black man, it has helped in areas of clothing, infrastructure, and EVERYTHING in fact. Countries like Ghana, Libya, and South Africa have grown big time. These countries suffered no such thing like a misplaced priority as the legacy of Nelson Mandela still breathes fresh air. I would be a liar to say I do not envy the manner in which they sustained their culture, their vision, as well as unity. What about their counterpart, Nigeria?

Nigerians welcomed technology but unlike the aforementioned black countries, we were cool with being spoon fed by the white man. We welcomed Christianity too but have mistaken true christianity from appalling extremity. An extremist is near sighted or blind, he is one who has learnt the way to Christianity from the White Race but still feels the Whites are heading towards destruction cos they consider them luke warm for Christ. Extremity in religion is what has caused us to call the television and everything birthed from technology, a tool in the hands of the always preached VILLAIN( Satan). We are probably hypocrites or oblivious of wisdom cos these same extremists are still on technologically produced garments. 

Nigerians are not losers, in fact we know not failures. We rejoice when we succeed in our pursuits and learn when we witness trying times like our current sullen state. It is just this itching news of extremism that has remained a body irritation for so long a time, if we must grow we must get over this infection by self examination. Let us learn once more.

I am aware of what the bible says about the end time. I am aware also about the bible’s assurance of a good and prosperous life. I am aware of my surroundings and the end time symbols. It is either asinine or wise saying that we see the doom as the foretold words of John which are now materialized. Hence, little attention be paid to repairing the physical walls of Nigeria but an aggressive evangelism of His coming being the key thing. I am ignorant, oblivious, a probable extremist, or trapped in my world of thoughts; I want a sweet Nigeria, but need Nigeria in open heavens. I hold no view, I am careful about your opinions cos you are probably stomaching more emotional injuries than myself. I seek clarity but wisdom is far reaching. I will remain trapped instead, I will wait for HER to cuddle me with wise talks and not mere parables.

                                     OKOCHA OBED

Author:

My name is Okocha Obed, you can call me Obeezy. I love to display aesthetics through my ink—I must say writing is my small world. I consider myself a deep writer; I say I am deep because I have discovered that part about myself, even, my fabulous audience share same view. I believe in connecting to all kind of persons as there is always something to learn from everyone. I see myself as an actor; to stay on the stage, I need to think ink. The voice is a reflection of myself and my conscience. I always felt I could be like superman while growing up. It was pretty ridiculous so all I did was dream of being a soldier. It was abortive. So I created a world where I could keep talking about the ills in my community but with other flavours to show I am growing into completeness. keep reading.

15 thoughts on “TRAPPED

  1. You write with more depth and understanding than your age (looking at your pic) would predict.

    Religion and faith have been a source of comfort, fear and confusion for me. My father was an atheist but my mother moved us around various Christian-based denominations. We went backwards and forwards between Catholicism, Church of England, Church Of The Latter Day Saints (Mormons) and Jehovah’s Witnesses.

    I have faith but attend nothing official these days. I can’t seem to believe in some of the teachings. The closest I came to ‘picking a team’ was with the Jehovah’s Witnesses but didn’t agree with their, and many other faiths, take on homosexuality, transgender etc. For example….

    “You shall not lie with a male as with a woman; it is an abomination.” Chapter 18 verse 22. “If a man lies with a male as with a woman, both of them have committed an abomination; they shall surely be put to death; their blood is upon them.” Chapter 20 verse 13.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. U have really explored diff denominations…lol

      We are in the era of division. New churches everyday, different ideology and doctrine yet one God. I will however enjoin u to worship where ur spirit welcomes + the reading of the scripture helps to show true intent and msg of God so far as read with the GOD HEAD’s presence.. Lol hope I aint sounding so divine..

      Thanks for the compliment*winks*…yh m a young blood…devout to learning from your experience and other persons.

      Liked by 2 people

      1. I guess I feel strongly that ones sexually isn’t a choice but something you’re born with and have little control over. When I say ‘have little control over’, I mean their desire and interest in a particular sex or wanting to be a particular gender, not in anyone’s ability to abstain from having sex.

        The sexuality issue is just one of a number of things I struggle to agree with where religion is concerned.

        I’ve seen many a young child, who know nothing of sex and sexuality, show the opposite traits to what is expected of their gender and have turned out to be homosexual or have gender issues. They’re not corrupt, nor an abomination in my eyes.

        Who would choose to be a source of ridicule and abuse, to experience rejection and hatred? Surely, people that inflict this kind of behaviour on homosexuals, transexuals etc are being just as ungodly as those they deem wicked because of their sexuality?

        I don’t see it as a sin but apparently, God is meant to, therefore his followers feel justified in their hatred and demonising of them. It all feels so wrong to me. Religious, monogamous, heterosexuals are capable of being wicked in the name of God and hiding behind words that were written thousands of years ago.

        I’m sorry it’s taken me so long to reply, I’m in and out of the office doing washing and housework.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Personally, I won’t say I hate these persons (homosexuals)… I just do not consider that in line with God’s teaching. What I do is pray for them, do you not wish they stop that act…the act of same sex is an abnormalcy that I feel is in the world today. I am not saying I hate them, but I am uncomfortable with the behavior.

    It is okay… Ur comments can fly in anytime.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I understand your point of view and I’m glad you feel no hate. It’s good to be able to have a civilised conversation. It’s interesting to hear other peoples’ points of view, it’s how we gain understanding.

      If we look at it from a purely clinical point of view, then something may have gone amiss in their embryonic development to cause this deviation from the norm. If God is their creator, does the ‘blame’ for the want of a better word, lie with him?

      I was told that we all have a cross to bear and that God wouldn’t burden us with more than we could handle, maybe God gave them this as their burden? To live a life of sexual abstinence or find a partner of the opposite sex that’s willing to marry them knowing they’re not physically attracted to them. Is this similar to your teachings?

      Liked by 2 people

      1. Uhmm not really similar. God is a just and fair God and so he wont plague an innocent child with the tilt towards homosexuality. It is believed that homosexuality is a demon, hence people infected with this devilish syndrome can recover by the laying of hands by pastors. I would say it is a matter purely spiritual but we are in a world were people adopt rationality in the place of heavenly dose or prescriptions. It is due to man’s carnal and meagre purview of this plague that he sees to embracing the sufferers and granting same sex marriage. I am not despising sufferers or saying they do not deserve happiness but it is against the Bible… And that it is God’s law.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. It’s always been such a hard thing for me to accept, hence me withdrawing from practising religion. I don’t have anyone close to me that’s homosexual but I have seen the wickedness with which they’ve been treated and it saddened me and made me ashamed of humankind. Let it be decided between them and God.

    Lovely to chat with you Mr Obeezy, thank you for your patience.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. I agree with you that they should not be treated as less humans. It is not for us to judge, that is a right shared by God. It is largely not the fault of this homosexuals as it was a fault from their biological make up. They need prayers, counsel, and people around them.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

