MARCHING FEET

I never said I was better than you

Stop the scene, I want no argy-bargy

Have I said you are not well-intentioned? Nay.

Do not identical twins have their differences?

To this, what do you say?

I have known kids to have dreams, that I attempted

All conscious steps to climb dint know even challenges

Instead

My story was an oak that fell into a heap of ashes after fire consumption

What is more?

My friends have soared high, favour has not kidnapped me.

No one calls me a failure no more, they must think its iteration a broken record

I live without pride; my eyes know drought so I cannot cry

I want a pact, dear corpus

You have long accommodated my habitual misfortune

Let me relieve you tonight

Oh! Let me let you change your routine

Failure’s grip on me de-robed every nail biting experience

Please understand

I crave not for a kerfuffle or a legion objectives

Holding the dearth of spongy hairs affixed my jaw, I have now

appreciated the wits from my pillow.

My mistake is my persistence in abyss, my persistence is my foe

I have remained in a strange land for too long

A bag lady they now call me for walking so forlorn

But no more!

I have learned.

I will start my journey afresh

Yeah! From the top; the rat race life is not worth living.

Tonight I will not writhe around in agony

Indeed the destination is a mile but that won’t kill my spirit.

Dear corpus, understand, I plea.

Now I must gather my feeble knees to start my exodus.

OKOCHA OBED

Leave a Reply

